Introduction & Policy Outline

The Division of Biological Science promotes education and research intended for various vital phenomena of the diversified living beings interacting on earth. It does so through macro research (ecology, ethology, systematic biology, and anthropology, etc.) conducted in an ongoing tradition of Kyoto University which prizes fieldwork, and integrates it with state-of-the-art micro research (cytology, gene study, embryology, neuroscience, and molecular biology, etc.).


The Division of Biological Science consists of the three departments of zoology, botany, and biophysics. In the Department of Zoology, we promote research for the principle understanding of living beings and of the diversity of the world in which living creatures reside. The Department of Botany and the Department of Biophysics conduct advanced research for the understanding of biodiversity and the definition of life.